What’s the Buzz?

What’s the News Saying about NAFTA?

 

NAFTANEXT has collected news stories highlighting the importance of trade. See our list, updated frequently, of articles demonstrating the importance of the North American trade relationship below!

Date   Article Title   Publication   URL

 

4/1/2017 Tough talk, weak case for NAFTA and U.S. border tax Herald Opinions http://thechronicleherald.ca/editorials/1455570-editorial-tough-talk-weak-case-for-nafta-and-u.s.-border-tax
 
3/30/2017 How US states rely on the NAFTA supply chain Brookings https://www.brookings.edu/blog/the-avenue/2017/03/30/how-u-s-states-rely-on-the-nafta-supply-chain/?utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter&utm_campaign=metro
 
4/4/2017 NAFTA isn’t actually a ‘disaster,’ but getting rid of it would be The Hill http://thehill.com/blogs/pundits-blog/finance/327112-nafta-isnt-a-disaster-but-getting-rid-of-it-would-be
 
4/4/2017 For Trump, NAFTA Could Be the Next Obamacare Politico http://www.politico.com/magazine/story/2017/04/for-trump-nafta-could-be-the-next-obamacare-214979
 
4/6/2017 Corn Trade Concerns With Mexico as U.S. Trade Policy Unfolds Pork Network http://www.porknetwork.com/news/ag-policy/corn-trade-concerns-mexico-us-trade-policy-unfolds
  
4/5/2017 On NAFTA, Trump’s caution falls short of his tough talk — and that’s fine with free traders Dallas Morning News https://www.dallasnews.com/news/politics/2017/04/05/nafta-trumps-caution-falls-short-tough-talk-fine-free-traders
  
4/4/2017 The truth about NAFTA Project Syndicate https://www.project-syndicate.org/commentary/trump-mexico-renegotiate-nafta-by-laura-tyson-2017-04
  
4/6/2017 Ambassador Darci Vetter On Future of NAFTA Iowa Public Radio http://iowapublicradio.org/post/ambassador-darci-vetter-future-nafta#stream/0
  
4/6/2017 Don’t stall on NAFTA negotiation My San Antonio http://www.mysanantonio.com/opinion/editorials/article/Don-t-stall-on-NAFTA-negotiation-11056209.php
  
4/7/2017 Mexico: Let’s get NAFTA done now CNN Money http://money.cnn.com/2017/04/07/news/economy/mexico-nafta-economic-minister/
  
4/4/2017 Business Over the Border: NAFTA’s Role in Balancing Economies Inside Track https://www.up.com/aboutup/community/inside_track/mexico-nafta-3-27-2017.htm
  
4/10/2017 Evolving U.S. trade policy: What’s at stake for the NAFTA zone? Market Watch http://www.marketwatch.com/story/evolving-us-trade-policy-whats-at-stake-for-the-nafta-zone-2017-04-10-920200
  
4/10/2017 Interview: Mexico has “much to gain” from NAFTA talks, says expert Xinhua Net http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/2017-04/10/c_136196458.htm
  
4/11/2017 NAFTA has staying power, especially if Texas supporters keep speaking out Dallas Morning News https://www.dallasnews.com/business/business/2017/04/11/nafta-staying-power-especially-supporters-keep-speaking
 
4/7/2017 Free Trade And Food: Farmers Grow Nervous About NAFTA’s Future Ohio Valley Resource http://ohiovalleyresource.org/2017/04/07/free-trade-and-food-farmers-grow-nervous-about-naftas-future/
  
3/31/2017 Also Made in Mexico: Lifesaving Medical Devices New York Times https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/31/business/us-mexico-trade-medical-devices.html?_r=1
  
4/11/2017 On NAFTA, Trump’s Caution Falls Short of His Tough Talk — And That’s Fine With Free Traders Transport Topics http://www.ttnews.com/articles/basetemplate.aspx?storyid=45602
  
3/27/2017 The Trade Deficit Isn’t a Scorecard, and Cutting It Won’t Make America Great Again New York Times https://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/28/upshot/the-trade-deficit-isnt-a-scorecard-and-cutting-it-wont-make-america-great-again.html
  
4/7/2017 NAFTA, Trade Deals, and Trump Global Trade Mag http://www.globaltrademag.com/global-trade-daily/watch-nafta-trade-deals-trump
  
4/12/2017 The Perils of Economic Nationalism according to Gary Gereffi Medium https://medium.com/gvcs-and-economic-development/the-perils-of-economic-nationalism-according-to-gary-gereffi-1cbe3908678a
   
4/12/2017 It’s time for Canadian industry to knock on U.S. doors: Canada Institute director The Globe and Mail http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/its-time-for-canadian-industry-to-knock-on-us-doors-canada-institute-director/article34681693/
  
3/10/2017 Trump’s NAFTA Approach Could Worsen US-Mexico Trade Deficit PIIE https://piie.com/blogs/trade-investment-policy-watch/trumps-nafta-approach-could-worsen-us-mexico-trade-deficit
  
4/8/2017 Energy trade with Mexico, Canada a boon for US Las Vegas Sun https://lasvegassun.com/news/2017/apr/08/energy-trade-with-mexico-canada-a-boon-for-us/
  
4/13/2017 Avocados demonstrate the success of NAFTA Mexico News Daily http://mexiconewsdaily.com/opinion/avocados-demonstrate-naftas-success/
  
4/7/2017 Briggs: Canada hearts trade with Indiana Indy Star http://www.indystar.com/story/money/2017/04/07/briggs-canada-hearts-trade-indiana/100114006/
  
4/13/2017 States fear trade war with Mexico Fox News http://www.foxnews.com/us/2017/04/13/states-fear-trade-war-with-mexico.html
  
4/14/2017 How Trump’s trade policies affect US retailers Business Journal http://www.bizjournals.com/columbus/news/2017/04/14/how-trump-s-trade-policies-affect-u-s-retailers.html
  
4/17/2017 North American auto industry needs NAFTA: Scotiabank Yahoo http://finance.yahoo.com/news/north-american-auto-industry-needs-123000862.html
  
1/26/2017 The smart way to think about that trade deficit with Mexico Washington Post https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2017/01/26/the-smart-way-to-think-about-that-trade-deficit-with-mexico/?utm_term=.fc22aaeca0d3
  
4/17/2017 Trump is forgetting ‘an underappreciated benefit of NAFTA’ Business Insider http://www.businessinsider.com/heres-how-nafta-protects-us-exporters-that-trump-claims-to-champion-2017-4
  
4/18/2017 A NAFTA World Cup? Just the thing to improve relations LA Times http://www.latimes.com/opinion/op-ed/la-oe-sarukhan-world-cup-joint-north-america-bid-20170418-story.html
  
4/18/2017 Trudeau sends more ministers to U.S. amid NAFTA and border tax worries CBC http://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/liberals-ministers-united-states-nafta-1.4073017
  
4/18/2017 Trump threatens once again to get rid of NAFTA Detroit Free Press http://www.freep.com/story/news/politics/2017/04/18/donald-trump-nafta/100614752/
  
4/18/2017 Economy Watch: Industrial Still Likely to Benefit from Free Trade Commercial Property Executive https://www.cpexecutive.com/post/economy-watch-industrial-still-likely-to-benefit-from-free-trade/
  
4/28/2017 Union Pacific CEO vouches for NAFTA and activism Iowa State Daily http://www.iowastatedaily.com/news/article_9906eb86-2459-11e7-a2e5-1b80ebcdb636.html
  
4/20/2017 Trump: Dairy trade dispute with Canada a ‘disgrace’ caused by NAFTA The Hill http://thehill.com/business-a-lobbying/329733-trump-nafta-changes-will-come-in-two-weeks
  
4/19/2017 Revisiting NAFTA: Implications for U.S. Agricultural Markets FB http://www.fb.org/analysis/revisiting-nafta-implications-for-u.s.-agricultural-markets
  
4/19/2017 Mexican trade minister: NAFTA revisions could have huge impact on KC Business Journal http://www.bizjournals.com/kansascity/news/2017/04/19/mexican-trade-minister-nafta-revisions-kc-impact.html
  
4/20/2017 KC Southern CEO: A lot at stake if there’s a ‘bad outcome’ on NAFTA Business Journal http://www.bizjournals.com/kansascity/news/2017/04/20/kansas-city-southern-ceo-ottensmeyer-nafta.html
  
4/20/2017 Former USTR official warns U.S. approach to NAFTA could backfire against U.S. agriculture World Trade online https://insidetrade.com/daily-news/former-ustr-official-warns-us-approach-nafta-could-backfire-against-us-agriculture
  
4/2/2017 Tequila and Startups: Mexico’s Growing Tech Scene The McGill International Review http://mironline.ca/tequila-startups-mexicos-growing-tech-scene/
  
4/17/2017 US Potato Growers offer Trump suggestions to improve NAFTA National Potato Council http://www.potatopro.com/news/2017/us-potato-growers-offer-trump-suggestions-improve-nafta
  
4/12/2017 Donald Trump calls NAFTA a disaster, but Texans know better — and now’s the time to speak up Dallas Morning News https://www.dallasnews.com/opinion/editorials/2017/04/12/donald-trump-calls-nafta-disaster-texans-know-better-nows-time-speak
  
4/21/2017 U.S.-Mexico trade relations to survive Trump’s anti-trade rhetoric, Mexican official says DC Velocity http://www.dcvelocity.com/articles/20170421-us-mexico-trade-relations-to-survive-trumps-anti-trade-rhetoric-mexican-official-says/
  
4/24/2017 U.S. Chamber of Commerce chief expects basic NAFTA deal by mid-2018 Reuters http://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa-mexico-nafta-idUSKBN17Q0DV
  
4/24/2017 How to Renegotiate NAFTA Project Syndicate https://www.project-syndicate.org/commentary/trump-mexico-renegotiate-nafta-by-jeffrey-frankel-2017-04
  – – –
4/25/2017 With NAFTA, Mexico and the U.S. build things together Dallas Morning News https://www.dallasnews.com/opinion/commentary/2017/04/25/nafta-mexico-us-build-things-together
  – –
4/25/2017 Making a case for NAFTA at Viva Fresh The packer http://www.thepacker.com/news/industry/making-case-nafta-viva-fresh
  
4/24/2017 Indivisible: The Truth about the U.S. and Mexico, in the New Issue of Americas Quarterly Americas Quarterly http://www.as-coa.org/articles/indivisible-truth-about-us-and-mexico-new-issue-americas-quarterly
  
2/7/2017 Why US should treat Mexico as a vital partner, not a punching bag The conversation http://theconversation.com/why-us-should-treat-mexico-as-a-vital-partner-not-a-punching-bag-72350
  
4/25/2017 I Visited Flint, Michigan and a Mexican Boomtown to Study NAFTA’s Effects. Here’s What I Found. Americas Quarterly http://americasquarterly.org/content/i-visited-flint-michigan-and-mexican-boomtown-study-naftas-effects-heres-what-i-found
  
4/25/2017 The True Relevance of NAFTA Americas Quarterly http://americasquarterly.org/content/true-relevance-nafta
  
4/26/2017 U.S. agriculture exports could lose big if Nafta gets dumped Market Watch http://www.marketwatch.com/story/us-agriculture-exports-could-lose-big-if-nafta-gets-dumped-2017-04-26
  
4/27/2017 Trump Says NAFTA Stays For Now – Good, Who Wants To Crash The Entire North American Economy? Forbes https://www.forbes.com/sites/timworstall/2017/04/27/trump-says-nafta-stays-for-now-good-who-wants-to-crash-the-entire-north-american-economy/#71ab196f3bc4
   
4/26/2017 Ford, GM praise Trump tax reform plan Detroit Free Press http://www.freep.com/story/money/cars/2017/04/26/ford-gm-trump-tax-reform/100946618/
  
4/27/2017 Revisiting Nafta: The Stakes for Key Industries New York Times https://www.nytimes.com/2017/04/27/business/economy/nafta-impact-industries-cars-agriculture-apparel-pharmaceuticals.html?_r=1
  
4/27/2017 NAFTA is a miracle The Washington Examiner http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/nafta-is-a-miracle/article/2621500
  
4/26/2017 Republicans tell Trump to hold up on NAFTA withdrawal Politico http://www.politico.com/story/2017/04/26/white-house-nafta-withdraw-trump-237632
  
4/28/2017 Rep. Will Hurd differs with Trump on NAFTA, border wall CBS News http://www.cbsnews.com/news/rep-will-
  
4/27/2017 Mexico’s president says opportunity to update NAFTA to benefit all 3 countries CNBC http://www.cnbc.com/2017/04/27/mexicos-president-says-opportunity-to-update-nafta-to-benefit-all-3-countries.html
  
4/30/2017 Four Keys To Renegotiating NAFTA Forbes https://www.forbes.com/sites/phillevy/2017/04/30/four-keys-to-renegotiating-nafta/#4d40d0932259
  
4/29/2017 Grijalva, Flake Weigh In On Trump’s Stance On NAFTA KJZZ http://kjzz.org/content/467722/grijalva-flake-weigh-trumps-stance-nafta
  
5/1/2017 NAFTA changes would have major impact on local economy, KC trade official says 98.1 fm KMBZ http://www.kmbz.com/articles/nafta-changes-would-have-major-impact-local-economy-kc-trade-official-says
  
5/2/2017 Commerce Secretary Ross: ‘My biggest priority is getting NAFTA on the right foot’ Yahoo https://finance.yahoo.com/news/commerce-secretary-ross-biggest-priority-getting-nafta-right-foot-165824064.html
  
5/1/2017 Farmers favor keeping NAFTA Ottumwa Courier http://www.ottumwacourier.com/news/farmers-favor-keeping-nafta/article_afffa046-2ebb-11e7-a239-bfa06e6e5deb.html
  
4/28/2017 Trump Saves NAFTA for Now, U.S. Borderland Cheers Fox News http://www.foxbusiness.com/politics/2017/04/28/trump-saves-nafta-for-now-u-s-borderland-cheers.html
  
5/2/2017 Canadian MP Andrew Leslie uses hamburgers to illustrate importance of NAFTA Global News http://globalnews.ca/news/3421846/andrew-leslie-nafta-burgers/
  
5/3/2017 NAFTA’s impact: Real or imagined, Trump campaigned on promise to renegotiate it, bring work back to U.S. Cronkite News https://cronkitenews.azpbs.org/2017/05/03/nafta-trump-work-us-mexico/
  
5/1/2017 Ford’s Hinrichs on how to improve NAFTA Auto News http://www.autonews.com/article/20170501/OEM11/305019958/fords-hinrichs-on-how-to-improve-nafta
  
5/4/2017 Nebraska needs NAFTA certainty Lincoln Journal Star http://journalstar.com/news/opinion/editorial/editorial-nebraska-needs-nafta-certainty/article_f557cb1b-29a6-5728-9c43-9322e04a9ee3.html
  
5/3/2017 Texas cattle ranchers, dependent on Mexican trade, keep an eye on NAFTA Marketplace, NPR https://www.marketplace.org/2017/05/03/economy/texas-cattle-ranchers-dependent-mexican-trade-keep-eye-nafta
  
5/3/2017 US positions on NAFTA could be giving Canadians whiplash Herald-Tribune http://www.heraldtribune.com/news/20170503/us-positions-on-nafta-could-be-giving-canadians-whiplash
  
5/3/2017 Andrew Malcolm: Major changes to NAFTA? Good luck with that The Daily World http://www.thedailyworld.com/opinion/andrew-malcolm-major-changes-to-nafta-good-luck-with-that/
  
4/28/2017 Mexican manufacturers bet on Nafta Financial Times https://www.ft.com/video/799d15ae-31b5-3013-91ec-e014f9231a22?playlist-name=section-MQ==-U2VjdGlvbnM=&playlist-offset=4
  
5/2/2017 Pro-Trump farmers now worry he was serious about NAFTA repeal CNN Politics http://www.cnn.com/2017/05/02/politics/trump-nafta-farmers/
  
5/2/2017 Why Trump’s obsession with trade deficits is misguided LA Times http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-trade-deficit-trump-obsession-20170502-htmlstory.html
  
5/3/2017 The Numbers Behind the World’s Closest Trade Relationship Visual Capitalists http://www.visualcapitalist.com/closest-trade-relationship-usa-canada/
  
5/6/2017 Ending NAFTA Would Be The Disaster Forbes https://www.forbes.com/sites/stuartanderson/2017/05/06/ending-nafta-would-be-the-disaster/#32fb0ad96c8f
  
5/5/2017 Changes to NAFTA could affect business on both sides of border Cronkite News https://cronkitenews.azpbs.org/2017/05/05/whats-at-stake-for-mexico-in-a-nafta-renegotiation/
  
5/4/2017 U.S. Rice and NAFTA FB http://www.fb.org/analysis/ricenafta
  
5/9/2017 New NAFTA Morning Consult https://morningconsult.com/opinions/new-nafta/
  
5/8/2017 NAFTA Cars Are Not Foreign-Made Cars Daily Caller http://dailycaller.com/2017/05/08/nafta-cars-are-not-foreign-made-cars/
  
5/9/2017 NAFTA Support In Canada Stronger Than In U.S.: Pew Research Survey Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2017/05/09/nafta-support-canada-us-pew-survey_n_16513822.html
  
5/7/2017 NAFTA’s uncertainty puts border investments on hold JOC http://www.joc.com/regulation-policy/trade-agreements/us-trade-agreements/nafta%E2%80%99s-uncertainty-puts-border-investments-hold_20170507.html
  
5/7/2017 Wheat grower organizations expressed concern over possible NAFTA withdrawal High Plains/Midwest Ag Journal http://www.hpj.com/crops/wheat-grower-organizations-expressed-concern-over-possible-nafta-withdrawal/article_b4b05abb-e53b-53ba-b443-98e88baf485a.html
  
5/9/2017 Commentary: Keep Texas economy strong by updating — not replacing — NAFTA Austin American-Statesman http://www.mystatesman.com/news/opinion/commentary-keep-texas-economy-strong-updating-not-replacing-nafta/NMrPkQJ80iF36QiO8irSXL/
  
5/10/2017 Mexico Presses Trump to Uphold NAFTA for the Good of Both Nations Fortune http://fortune.com/2017/05/10/mexico-trump-nafta-trade-economy/
  
5/10/2017 Two GOP Senators Oppose Trump’s Trade Pick, Cite Nafta Concerns AJOT https://www.ajot.com/news/two-gop-senators-oppose-trumps-trade-pick-cite-nafta-concerns
  
5/10/2017 Canadian exporters: Keep calm and carry on while NAFTA up in the air The Globe and Mail https://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/canadian-exporters-keep-calm-and-carry-on-while-nafta-up-in-the-air/article34949354/
  
5/11/2017 Fiddling with NAFTA will damage America’s relationship with Mexico The Hill http://thehill.com/blogs/pundits-blog/international/333033-curbing-free-trade-with-mexico-will-harm-america-and-its
  
5/11/2017 International trade with Mexico is vital for state’s and American economies and 382,ooo Texas jobs, Rep. Canales’ legislation, approved by House of Representatives, tells President and Congress Edinburg Politics http://edinburgpolitics.com/2017/05/11/international-trade-with-mexico-is-vital-for-states/
  
5/1/2017 The False Promise of Protectionism Foreign Affairs https://www.foreignaffairs.com/articles/united-states/2017-04-17/false-promise-protectionism
  
5/12/2017 Trade good for US Economy says registered voters Oregon Business Report http://oregonbusinessreport.com/2017/05/trade-good-for-us-economy-says-registered-voters/
  
5/9/2017

Trade Challenges: United States, Canada, and China

The Epoch Times http://www.theepochtimes.com/n3/2248569-trade-challenges-united-states-canada-and-china/
  
5/11/2017 Mintert: Trade is important for meat industry Agrinews http://www.agrinews-pubs.com/opinion/nafta-trade-is-important-for-meat-industry/article_413aee24-8159-5a70-ada8-5b2cddc6a08a.html
  
5/12/2017 Mexico Discusses US Trade Deficits Ahead Of NAFTA Review Tax-News http://www.tax-news.com/news/Mexico_Addresses_US_Trade_Deficit_Ahead_Of_NAFTA_Review____74231.html
  
5/8/2017 In a trade war with Canada, Florida loses Miami Herald http://www.miamiherald.com/opinion/op-ed/article149416429.html
  
5/18/2017 Keep NAFTA, but look to improve it The Grand Island Independent http://www.theindependent.com/opinion/another_opinion/keep-nafta-but-look-to-improve-it/article_be092274-3b41-11e7-8693-779d5097fd0a.html
  
5/18/2017 Trump administration sends NAFTA renegotiation letter to Congress CNBC http://www.cnbc.com/2017/05/18/trump-administration-sends-nafta-renegotiation-letter-to-congress-source.html
  
5/18/2017 What NAFTA talks could mean for U.S. consumers and business USA Today https://www.usatoday.com/story/money/2017/05/18/what-nafta-talks-could-mean-us-consumers-and-business/101517516/
  
5/16/2017 NAFTA gets robust defense in Colorado, where trade with Mexico and Canada matter Denver Post http://www.denverpost.com/2017/05/16/nafta-defense-colorado/
  
5/18/2017 AAPC Statement on Renegotiation of NAFTA American Auto Council http://www.americanautocouncil.org/content/aapc-statement-renegotiation-nafta
  
5/19/2017 Ag weighs in on Trump’s NAFTA renegotiation Ag Daily http://www.agdaily.com/news/ag-weighs-in-on-trumps-nafta-renegotiation/
  
5/16/2017 SEN. MORAN, FISCHER AND COLLEAGUES STRESS ECONOMIC IMPACT OF NAFTA TO USTR KTIC http://kticradio.com/agricultural/sen-moran-fischer-and-colleagues-stress-economic-impact-of-nafta-to-ustr/
  
5/18/2017 A better NAFTA? Ag wonders about renegotiation Ag Week http://www.agweek.com/news/nation-and-world/4269360-better-nafta-ag-wonders-about-renegotiation
  
1/24/2017 NAFTA’s Economic Impact Council on Foreign Relations https://www.cfr.org/backgrounder/naftas-economic-impact
  
5/19/2017 A talk with Mexico’s NAFTA advocate DC Velocity http://www.dcvelocity.com/articles/20170519-a-talk-with-mexicos-nafta-advocate/
  
5/19/2017 Farm groups tell administration ‘do no harm’ on NAFTA Delta Farm Press http://www.deltafarmpress.com/cotton/farm-groups-tell-administration-do-no-harm-nafta